Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a very important stage in learning at St. John the Evangelist RC Primary. Children develop quickly in the early years and our early years practitioners aim to do all they can to help the children have the best possible start in life.

Children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which explains how and what your child will be learning. Your child will be developing skills, acquiring knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven main areas of development, made up of three prime areas and four specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

Communication and Language
Physical Development
Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas are:

Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

The Learning Context

Long Term Planning for Early Years 2017-2020.